Best of 2022 – Base Makeup (Foundation, Concealer, Primer, & Setting Products)!

Hey guys! I am starting a series on my blog where I’m going to go through all of my favorite products from 2022! I’m focusing mostly on makeup, but I’m planning to have a post or two on other beauty items like skincare and perfume. This first post is focused on all base products, including foundations, concealers, primer, and setting products, so let’s get into it! 

Foundations

Fenty Eaze Drop Blurring Skin Tint

I have been obsessed with these for a while now, and they were one of my top used base products this year! It’s a thin formula with a medium coverage, and it sits so well on the skin. It’s best for days when you want less coverage but still want a dewy, even base. I use the shade 2, which is light with neutral undertones.

ColourPop Pretty Fresh Hyaluronic Tinted Moisturizer 

This is another product I’ve been using for a while now, and it’s similar to the Fenty one in that it has light to medium coverage and a dewy finish. It’s so comfortable on the skin and nice to wear, and it literally looks good all day. It’s a bit more moisturizing than the Fenty one and has a tad less coverage. But I would highly recommend it, especially considering it’s half the price of Fenty. I use the shade 4N.

Maybelline Fit Me Dewy + Smooth Foundation

I had been wanting to try this product for a while, because it’s one of the cheapest foundations on the market and has been around forever. And I was not disappointed when I finally did! It’s true to its name, being super dewy and smooth on the skin, and it has a medium buildable coverage and SPF 10. It has a fairly good shade range and is available literally everywhere, so I like the accessibility factor of it on top of the amazing quality for the price.

Honorable Mentions: L’Oreal Infallible Fresh Wear 24HR Foundation, Rare Beauty Positive Light Tinted Moisturizer, & ColourPop Pretty Fresh Hyaluronic Hydrating Foundation

Concealer

NYX Bare With Me Hydrating Face & Body Concealer Serum

This was the most surprising new find of the year! I had heard some buzz about it, so I picked it up just to see, and it’s legitimately one of the best concealers I’ve ever used. It’s thin but has amazing full coverage, and it doesn’t crack or crease on the skin. You only need one pump and it covers every blemish and mark you’d want to cover on your face. This may be my new #1 of all time honestly! They just need more shades now.

Tarte Shape Tape Ultra Creamy Concealer

Tarte Shape Tape is a tried and true, not surprising at this point, but I just had to put the creamy version in my top concealers for the year because it’s so good! It has pretty full coverage and wears beautifully. It is a bit heavier than the NYX one on the skin, so I like it for more full coverage looks, but it’s nothing too bad.

Kosas Revealer Super Creamy + Brightening Concealer

This was a surprising one for me! I honestly didn’t love it the first time I tried it, but the more I used it, the more I realized how good it is. It has low to medium coverage but is definitely buildable. It feels really great on the skin, and it has some skincare benefits according to it’s description. This is my go-to for super minimal makeup days.

L’Oreal Infallible Full Wear Waterproof Concealer

This concealer has been one of my favorites for a long time, so it’s always on my list! It’s full coverage and creamy, and it wears well throughout the day.

Honorable Mentions: Essence Camouflage + Matt Concealer, Too Faced Born This Way Super Coverage Multi-Use Sculpting Concealer, & Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circle Treatment Concealer

Primer

ELF Poreless Putty Primer

This is definitely my top used primer this year! I love how smooth and moisturizing it is, and I feel like it gives my skin a nice canvas for my foundation. I don’t think it necessarily helps make my makeup last longer, but overall I really like it.

Wet N Wild Prime Focus Primer Serum

I bought this on a total whim and really ended up liking it a lot! It’s a liquidy formula with some micro-glitter that moisturizes and gives a nice glow to the skin.

Neutrogena Prep + Correct Peach Face Primer

This is somewhere between a primer and a tinted moisturizer, but it’s marketed as a color-correcting primer so I’m including it in this section. This is a great base under foundation to smooth out any redness in your skin, and also has some moisturizing properties.

Honorable Mentions: Too Faced Hangover Replenishing Face Primer, NYX Marshmellow Smoothing Face Primer, Maybelline FaceStudio Master Prime Blur + Pore Minimize Primer, ELF Matte Putty Primer, & ColourPop Hyaluronic Hydrating Primer

Setting Powder

Maybelline Fit Me Loose Finishing Powder

I will be obsessed with this powder until the day I die!! This is the best loose setting powder on the market, especially for the price. It smooths the skin, even things out, sets well under the eyes, and wears well throughout the day. It’s definitely for more full-coverage looks, so if you’re not into that, you may not like it as much. But I recommend this to everyone.

ColourPop No Filter Loose Setting Powder

This powder isn’t quite as good as the Maybelline one, but it’s a close second. I use the translucent color, and it’s a really good product overall. It looks good on the skin and has great packaging for a loose powder.

-Huda Beauty Easy Bake Loose Baking & Setting Powder

This was another product that I didn’t love at first, but I had to basically learn how to use it the right way and then I loved it. It’s extremely finely milled, so it blends really well into the skin (and also your damp beauty sponge if you’re not careful). I get the most compliments on my skin when I use this, because it just gives your skin this filter effect. The only downside is the smell, which is this really weird cinnamon apple scent that I can’t stand. But overall, it’s worth it.

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder

This is another absolute holy grail product that I will use forever. I have one of the Ambient Lighting palettes and one of the 6-pan palettes, and this is just the best last step to finishing a makeup look. It doesn’t show up majorly, but it’s one of those finishing touches that really makes everything look good.

Laura Mercier Candleglow Sheer Perfecting Powder

This product is a very close second to the Hourglass powder. It has a similar effect of being a glowy finishing powder, and it looks beautiful on the skin. If you want your makeup to look airbrushed/filtered, this kind of product is the secret.

Revlon PhotoReady Blurring Powder

I’ve had a compact of this powder for a while and am almost out, and I just love using it, especially for full coverage days. I’m not sure if this is even sold widely anymore, but it’s such a good product if you ever find it.

One/Size Turn Up The Base Versatile Powder Foundation

This powder is one of my favorites for setting my foundation. It gives such a smooth and even finish to the face, and it wears well all day. It comes in a ton of colors, and I overall just love the One/Size brand!

Honorable Mention: L’Oreal Infallible 24HR Fresh Wear Foundation powder & ColourPop Pretty Fresh Pressed Face Powder

Setting Spray

Urban Decay All Nighter Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray

Not going to say much about this, I feel like everyone know about this setting spray by now, but it’s the best!

Morphe Continuous Setting Mist

This has always been my second favorite setting spray, because it’s so nice and light, and it makes the skin look really good. I just don’t think it makes makeup last quite as long as the Urban Decay one, so that’s the only reason it’s not my number one favorite.

Honorable Mentions: NYX Plump Right Back Plumping Setting Spray, Flower Beauty Seal The Deal Long-Lasting Setting Spray, & Prep + Prime Fix+ Primer and Setting Spray

So there you have it! These are all of my favorite base products from the year. Let me know in the comments what your favorites are, and stay tuned for my next couple of parts!

Leave a comment