Billion Dollar Beauty Box Review! | January 2022

Hey y’all! This post is a long-time coming, because I bought these products and made a TikTok about them months ago and just never got around to doing a blog review LOL. Over the summer, I was strolling the makeup aisles of Target, and I came across a brand I had never heard of before called Billion Dollar Beauty. They had a skinny section in the makeup aisle, which is generally where smaller brands and/or indie brands go. They had a super interesting concept for their products and packaging, and I was hooked immediately! They were also having a buy 2, get 1 50% off sale, which is always enticing.

The specific product I am reviewing here is the Billion Dollar Box. They have created a drug-store version of a customizable, magnetic Z-palette! So you buy their palette, which is a little box with a mirror attached to the lid that you can prop up and use as a vanity, and you can fill it with whatever products you want! They have eyeshadow, lip products, cheek products, and eyebrow products that you can refill and mix-and-match however you please. The products are very affordable, so it was fun to go through and pick out what I wanted from all of their options. I would have loved to have a whole wall of options, but what they had was pretty good all things considered. 

I bought the box, 2 brow products, 5 eyeshadows, two lip balms, 2 blushes, and a highlighter. The box itself is $9.99, and each smaller product is $3.99. So the price definitely adds up, but I think the prices are fair overall. Each product is a little bit different, so I’ll go over each briefly. If you want to see them in action, head over to my TikTok! 

The eyeshadows are a nice quality, but nothing to write home about. AThey weren’t that pigmented, but they were good for creating a simple, neutral look. I got 2 shimmers and 3 mattes for some variety, but they really only had brown/neutral tones, so it was hard to differentiate them once I had them on the eyes. 

The eyebrow powder is awesome, and it applied super easily with an angled brush. That’s one note about the palette, is that it’s convenient and all to have everything in one, but you still need to have brushes for each product. But yeah the powder was just the right level of pigmentation and looked good in general. I did not like the pomade, but I have never used one, so I may just need to play around with it some more. The shade is a bit too dark for me, so that probably doesn’t help. 

My favorite products out of everything were the blushes! They are gorgeous and actually very pigmented. I got shades that were a bit darker, because I hate having really light blush shades that just blend away once you apply them. The two shades I got are absolutely lovely! My only critique is that the pans are hard to get a brush into, but they’re meant to be more compact so I’ll forgive it for now. The highlighter is very pretty as well, though a touch on the chalky side. All said and done though, I really liked it and loved the sheen it gave my skin. 

Finally, we have the lip products. These are tough because the likelihood of me using them is slim to none. I just don’t like the formula that much,  as it’s very waxy, and I don’t like the shades I picked either. They’re very pink, and kind of both look the same when applied. You also run the risk of getting powder fallout in the pans after using them, because the powder will stick to the balm. But I mean, if those were the only two lip products left on earth, or the only thing I brought on a trip or something, I would use them since they do have a good amount of pigment payoff. 

Here is the look I created with the products!

Overall, I think this is a cool concept, but I just don’t think the execution is going to be super memorable or revolutionary. I don’t hear anyone talking about this on social media, which isn’t the end all be all, but it shows a lack of relevance in the public domain and a lack of reviews and opinions to help buyers and to help the company improve. I think they have a good start though. Some of the products are really nice, and I love the durability and travel-friendly-ness of the packaging. The mirror is really great as well! And I like that you can swap out what you have for different shades here and there. I think this would be a great gift, especially for younger people or newer makeup users, as it’s fun to go pick out your shades and put the palette together. 

So there you have it! Some pros, some cons, but in general a fun experience. Have you tried anything from Billion Dollar Beauty? Let me know what you think! Thanks for stopping by 🙂 

2 Comments

Leave a comment